i come to you, with open arms
2003-03-14 / 5:57 p.m.


I just don't understand how people can have such funny banners, yet when you click on it, you discover that their diary majorly sucks, both layout-wise and writing-wise. I, personally, put just as much stock in the layout of a person's diary as in the actual writing. Not like I would add a person to my buddy list just because they have a nice layout, it's a combination of the writing and layout that attracts me to diaries.

Just to talk about American Idol for a bit, I can't believe Vanessa was voted off! She was one of the people on my Top-5-Now-Top-4 List, along with Clay (eee), Josh, Kimberley (Locke, not Caldwell ::shudder::) and Ruben. I'm just so confused as to why she was voted off. So she had some pitch problems? Her voice is definitely much better than Carmen's. And Carmen wasn't even in the bottom 3. What is wrong with America?

I just had a huge moment of remorse. Here I am, complaining about who got voted off from American Idol when our country is on the verge of war. I'll admit that I don't follow the news, so I don't really know too much about what's going on, but I just don't want to go to war. I though that possibly I would live in the generation that would be able to say they didn't have to live through a war. I mean, my parents had Vietnam, my grandparents had World War II, my great-grandparents had World War I and so on. But obviously, the world doesn't work this way.

I'm also upset for a more personal reason. Everyone knows about France's anti-war sentiments, and those of you who read my diary regularly know that I'm going to France in April. So, if you put two and two together, you will discover that there is a very high chance that we will not be going to France over spring break. Instead, I will be sitting in school. Thinking about how I could be in France right now. But because of stupid people in this world, I'm not. I might never get to see Armance and Manu and everyone else again. I mean, Armance told me that her home is open to me anytime, like I could visit over the summer if I wanted. But I don't know if my parents would let me travel to France alone. It was different with school because they knew that my teachers would be there, and I guess they thought I'd be safer then. But I just wanna go to France.

On a happier note, I'm so happy for Melissa! You see, what's happening is that there is a new guy who has piano lessons before her on Thursday nights. And according to her, and I believe her too, he is very hot. And nice. The first night she saw him he had to leave right away because his mom was there to pick him up. The same thing happened the next week. But then the week after that, he was still having his lesson when Melissa arrived and they started to talk, and she said he was very nice and laughed at things she said that she didn't think were extremely funny. And then afterwards her teacher wouldn't tell her what Mike (oh yeah, that's his name, I forgot to say it earlier) thought of her. And then, this week, they were at Miss Bing's (her teacher) new apartment just for piano lessons. And they talked again. And she thinks he might be interested in her, or at least I think so. And she said the conversation was very comfortable, and not stilted, which I think is a sign. And I can't wait to meet him. I think I'm gonna go with her either next week or the next. And Miss Bing, being the cool person she is, said that whenever Melissa wanted, she could come to the apartment with some friends and just hang out. Melissa is thinking about having her birthday party there for a few friends and possibly making it a sleepover, cuz Miss Bing said she could do that too. So I'm excited for that (possibly) and for meeting Mike too.

Speaking of Melissa's birthday, which isn't until April 23rd, but I plan a lot ahead and also greatly enjoy torturing Melissa, I know what I'm getting her already, or at least part of it. I can't say what it is, because she reads this and all, but it's extra super groovy cool! Hear that, Melissa?! Not like I would ever get her a stupid gift anyway.

And tonight Melissa and I are seeing our school's production of Les Miserables for the 3rd time. Sunday will be our 4th and last. No, we are not super-freaks. Ok, we are, but that's not why we are seeing it so many times. The reason we are is because it is just so incredibly good. I have never felt so proud to be at East. In my life. And I doubt I ever will again. This is truly the best showcase of talent our school will probably ever have. I'll expound (ooo, big word) on this further either tonight, tomorrow or Sunday after I see the show since then I will definitely be on yet another Les Miz high.

To add something more serious, we think my cat might be sick. We've only had him for a few years, and I don't want him to die. Even though I've always said that he shot my chances at getting a kitten, cuz we found him as a stray at my aunt's house, I don't really mean it. I love him, even though he isn't a lap cat and scratched me one time and made my charm bracelet break after I was blowing on his stomach. But I guess I kind of deserved it. What!? It looked cool when I blew on him. It was making these cool circular shapes. And my mom was doing it too. It wasn't just me! Alright, I guess defending myself in this case isn't doing any good. Anyway, I just want him to live. :( I can't take another kitty death in the family. This will be the 3rd. Oh well, more updates on this as we monitor his behavior some more.

Hm, there was something else I wanted to talk about...OH YEAH!!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TAYLOR!!!

The Tay I am referring to is Taylor Hanson of, well, Hanson, of course. He is now 20 years old, married, and a father. Not the best image for himself, but whatever floats his boat. As long as the new album, Underneath, comes out soon! That's all I'm worried about right now.

Ok, gotta go start making dinner, Melissa might be here soon.

Lindsay


<< >>